This Prize aims to recognise excellence in architecture. It distinguishes those works which strengthen the ability of adaptability of spaces to reach comfort and well-being to its residents. Architecture which turns into quality places for people’s every day lives: for working, learning, playing,… Architecture to be lived in.

2016 edition
This edition received 104 built works from 16 European countries. A conversation between the winners, Anne Lacaton, Jean-Philippe Vassal, Frédéric Druot, Eva Prats and Ricardo Flores, was held at Sala Beckett in Barcelona on the 22th of December 2016. The Granting Ceremony was celebrated at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in the evening of the same day.
View edition
2018 edition
2018 edition received 144 built works from 12 European countries and Mexican territories. A conversation between Frida Escobedo (president of jury) and Martha Thorne was held at Espacio 100 de Simon in Barcelona on the 25th of October 2018. The winners were announced at the Granting Ceremony that took place on 28th November 2018 at Espacio 100 de Simon in Barcelona.
View edition
2020 edition
2020 edition received 165 built works from 23 European countries and Mexican territories. Despite the COVID-19 pandemic situation, the edition kept its course and not just acomplished the initial goals for the edition but improved the results from the previous editions. The winners were announced in an online event in December and could finally receive their trophy in February 2021 in Barcelona.
View edition
Prize structure

Collective Places and Personal Places constitute the two categories around which the Prize is structured and reflect our interest in architecture planned and explained from the user’s perspective. An interest that focuses on experiences that put spaces to the test rather than on degree 0 of architecture frozen in the instants prior to being handed over to society and the city.

Prize methodology

The focus on the inhabitant is also reflected in the Prize methodology. The video, considered to be an instrument to bring architecture closer to the public in general and to convey the atmosphere of the place, is the main document to be submitted. The participation process includes users, inhabitants and citizens and allows them to propose those works they regard as worthy of consideration on the part of the jury.


Living Places – Simon Architecture Prize is an initiative of Simon and it is developed by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe.

“there is a firm commitment to design and innovation”

SIMON is at the head of an industrial group specialised in solutions for lighting, lighting control, connectivity and collections of mechanisms for the home, hotels, retailers, workspaces and urban areas. For all these spaces there is a firm commitment to design and innovation, which has resulted in Simon being awarded the Premio Nacional de Diseño from the Ministry of Economy, Industry and Competitiveness.
Simon sees spaces as the centre of user experience and offers people the chance to feel and create atmospheres that encourage new sensations, where they can touch, see, hear and feel. With Simon’s technology, it is possible to create endless experiences which adapt to the user’s rhythm of life, allowing them to live with the intensity and subtleties of life that they desire.
Unique sensations, within arm’s reach.

Fundació Mies van der Rohe
“It fosters the debate, diffusion and awareness of contemporary architecture”

The Fundació Mies van der Rohe was created in 1983 by the Barcelona City Council, with the purpose of reconstructing the German Pavilion, designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1886-1969) for the 1929 Barcelona International Exposition. It fosters the debate, diffusion and awareness of subjects related to contemporary architecture and urban planning. It also promotes the study of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe’s work and the Modern Movement. Particularly pertinent is its organisation, together with the European Commission, of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award, one of the most prestigious architecture prizes in Europe.